Planning & Zoning Board

The City of Tavares Planning & Zoning Board meets on the 3rd Thursday of each month at 3:00 p.m. in the City Council Chambers, City Hall, 21 E Main Street, Tavares 32778

The Planning & Zoning Board acts as a recommending body to the City Council.  City staff prepares a statement of findings concerning an applications compliance with the Comprehensive Plan and Land Development Regulations as well as any recommendations for additional requirements.  After receiving an application, the Planning & Zoning Board shall report to the City Council whether it concurs in whole or in part with the staff's proposed findings, and if there are differences, the Planning & Zoning Board will propose its own recommendation and reasons therefore.  In response to the recommendations of the Planning & Zoning Board, an applicant may modify an application prior to submission to the City Council.

The Planning & Zoning Board consists of 7 members with 3 year terms and 1 representative from the Lake County School Board.  Board Members must be residents of the City of Tavares and are appointed by the Mayor.

Planning & Zoning Board Members

Gary S. Santoro - Chairman 
(Term: 2017-2020)
Robert Wolfe  
(Term: 2019-2022)
Dara Treadwell  
(Term: 2019-2022)
Gary Koerner  
(Term: 2019-2022)
Morris E. Osborn 
(Term: 2017-2020)
Deborah Murphy 
(Term: 2017-2020)
James Sweezea  
(Term: 2019-2022)
Helen LaValley - Lake County School Board Representative

Staff Liaison:  Mike Fitzgerald, Community Development Director
                        Ph 352.742.6408  Email

Planning & Zoning Board Application

Please contact the City Clerk at 352.742.6209 or by email with questions regarding serving on a City of Tavares board or committee.


Applications should be submitted to the City Clerk.




The City of Tavares is presently accepting applications for the following Board(s):

Planning and Zoning Board

Library Board

Board and Committee appointments are made by the Mayor of the City of Tavares. The Planning and Zoning Board terms of appointment are for three years (2020-2023), and the Library Board terms of appointment are for two years (2020-2022). Applications may be obtained by calling 352.742.6209 between the hours of 8 am and 5 pm Monday through Friday, by emailing the City Clerk at or by downloading the application from the city’s web site at

 Applications should be submitted by Friday, May 29, 2020 at 12:00 noon to the City Clerk at the City of Tavares, 201 E Main Street, Tavares, Florida 32778.  For additional information please contact Susie Novack, City Clerk, at 352.742.6209 or