Road Patrol

This area is overseen by Lieutenant Jared Blessing. The Road Patrol division is the backbone of the Tavares Police Department.  This division consists of up to 32 sworn officers, who handle traffic enforcement, accident investigations, answer calls for service, conduct property checks and assist with other units within the Police Department.

The Road Patrol division is comprised of four squads with each encompassing a twelve hour shift.  An officer works either a 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. shift, or a 6:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. shift.  The squads are referred to as A, B, C or D.  Additionally, TPD has 2 swing shift officers to cover peak demand periods. The Officers work two days (or nights) on with two days (or nights) off. 

Each squad is supervised by a Sergeant.  Each shift also has Corporal and three officers.  Lt. Coursey oversees the Road Patrol division.